Sunday’s prompt: describe an electronic device in the future that you won’t know how to operate

I have made it a week with these prompts and feel somewhat accomplished.

Considering I already don’t know how to use a lot of today’s electronic devices (I may still be suspicious of e-books), it should be easy for me to describe something technology-related that I’ll be clueless about, but I’m struggling.

I’ve heard about a tracking device that fits on the head of a pin.

Here are some of the issues I’d have with that:

  1. Finding it after I’d put it down
  2. Programming it because I’d first have to invent an electronic hand with fingers small enough to handle it
  3. Convincing people (especially those with low vision) that I actually had one of these things because it probably couldn’t be seen with the naked eye

You’d be able to track anything or anyone, like your kid who you thought was up to no good. You might want to track your dog or cat if you’re that way inclined, although I don’t think a pet would require such a stealthy device. You could put it on your grandma if you had one like the great grandmother in My Big Fat Greek Wedding who keeps trying to run away. You could put it on your phone, keys or wallet if you’re one of those people perpetually losing one of these items (we all know someone like this).

Now that I think about it, I wouldn’t even know how to turn it on or off, or how to connect it to a device like a computer, in order to track someone. If I only learnt how to open my car bonnet last year, I think something this high-tech wouldn’t have trouble stumping me. I conclude that I’d just have to put the device on something I never wanted to find.

And thus ends the week of writing to respond to prompts from 642 Things to Write About.

Thanks for reading!

Sincerely,
Lil

Image: https://s-media-cache-ak0.pinimg.com/236x/22/75/89/22758972ecd17c09b9bdcf3236df7702.jpg, 1 May 2016.

Leave a Reply

