Being still in a culture of hyperactivity

 

I’ll never forget what my Auntie Helen said to me when I was about 12. She called me for my birthday and, after the traditional present question, asked how I’d been. I said, “I’m pretty busy at the moment.” She laughed and said, “Lil, you will be busy for the rest of your life.” That stuck with me and ten years later I’m still saying it.

Being busy has become a fad, become fashionable. We seem to think that somehow being busy makes us a better person. There’s also the phrase “at the moment”. I can’t spend time with Jesus/exercise/clean the house/make an effort in my marriage or with my kids/friends because I’m busy at the moment. “At the moment” has lasted a decade for me so far. How about you? If we use busyness as a way to escape facing tough things, or as a way to make ourselves feel valuable, or if we’re busy simply because we think that’s what’s expected of us, it might be time to reassess.

As an aside, when people say they didn’t have time to spend with God this week, I’m always tempted to be a bit naughty and ask them to tally the total hours they spent watching TV, gaming and on social media. We make time for the things that are important to us.

It’s true that certain seasons of your life are more hectic than others but we need to make time for stillness.

For silence.

Even as I write this, I have music on in the background, and I’m thinking about dinner. In this age of iPads, social media and cable TV have we completely lost the ability to be still? We say we don’t have time for anything but then we feel it on a heart level as our soul becomes more and more depleted, slowly but surely drying up.

The bible says, “Be still and know that I am God” (Psalm 46:10).

How many hours, minutes, even seconds during the day do you take to be still?

Most days for me it’s not very many. And I feel convicted, having been guilty of seeking the hand of God more than the face of God, or completely ignoring Him for whole days because of my busyness “at the moment.”

I let the King of Kings fall to the wayside. Am I insane?

I love the Word of God because it always brings me back into alignment with His plumb line. The Word says, “Be still in the presence of the Lord, and wait patiently for Him to act” (Psalm 37:7). The temptation can be to take things into your own hands. “Giving God a nudge,” as my pastor Russ describes it.

What are you waiting for?

During times of waiting, God says to be still in His presence. How do you grow an intimate, thriving relationship with someone? Spend time alone with them, just being together.

God longs for you to do this with Him.

BE STILL and wait for Him to speak, however long it takes.
Sincerely,
Lil

 

Image: https://cnsbranches.files.wordpress.com/2015/04/be-still.jpg, sourced 24 April 2016.

Leave a Reply

